Gentle Giant Podcast

This is my podcast on Gentle Giant, one of my favorite bands.  Often overlooked, they are a stellar example of Progressive Rock.  I also wanted to continue the discussion on Prog Rock I started with my post on King Crimson–so in this podcast I briefly demonstrate some examples of things that make progressive rock progressive.  If you like the sounds, go listen to the band!  I’d suggest Three Friends (1972) or Free Hand (1975) as good starting points.  A lot of Gentle Giant information can be found at their fan wiki: for example these interviews.
To hear how Gentle Giant has directly influenced a musician such as myself check out this track from my own prog band, Hot Cognition:

It features the cycling meter technique I mentioned pointed out in “Glass House”, as well as the polymeter technique I demonstrated with “Just the Same”

Leave a Reply

