8bits of memories: Penultimate Fantasy

Here’s a track I really loved making, this is a ‘battle theme’ I wrote for a short film ‘8bit hero’ directed by John G. Hammond Jr.  The short is an obvious nod to video games: which was right up my alley.  Video game composers like Nobuo Uematsu, Yasonori Mitsuda, and Yoko Shimomura are probably very much responsible for my love of soundtracks in general.  There is just something magical about the video game music niche–loops of catchy contrapuntal synthesis that were forced to be something great because of the limitations of the hardware.  If you’ve played Megaman before I’m sure you know exactly what I just meant.

Anyways, this song was an obvious nod to the early battle themes of Nobuo Uematsu for the Final Fantasy series.  I framed the song as an homage to the iconic baseline of the Final Fantasy series (used in every battle music incarnation of Final Fantasy I-VI).  The limited polyphony of NES music was surely it’s greatest strength.  You don’t find an abundance chords in old NES songs, just counterpoint and deft arpeggiation: I wanted to preserve and expand on this in this composition.

The voices themselves are all synthesized with this great little free plugin called Magical8bitplugin (click the link if you want it).  So think raw square and triangle waves, pure noise for the drums (I’m so addicted to old NES synth drums).  I enjoyed making this song so much I reincarnated it with real instruments and used it as the credit roll (below).

Hope you enjoy these tracks as much as I enjoyed making them!

Leave a Reply

